Is it dangerous to sell your old router?

Can an old router retailer info?

This stands out as the query that many ask. For instance, when promoting a cell or pc, it is evident that all the pieces we’ve saved might be out there to whoever buys it, except we format the machine. So may a router save shopping knowledge, for instance?

Keep in thoughts that routers retailer sure info, though it is much from related to different gadgets. Its essential perform is to permit gadgets to be linked and thus supply a community connection. Internet site visitors, the pages we go to or the providers we use, shouldn’t be saved and the information it might retailer is encrypted. There are many makes use of that we may give an old router.

However, a router does retailer info associated to the operator’s configuration, the community title, the entry password, the DNS servers used, the settings we’ve configured … If we sell a router with out taking measures, this knowledge may very well be seen by the client.

But after all, can that basically have an effect on us? info? This is knowledge that has little worth, except we make sure errors. For instance, we put a username that we’re not excited by that may be seen by anybody, in addition to the password to entry the wi-fi community. An vital mistake could be to use a password that we’re utilizing in social networks or every other on-line platform.

In addition, there are some routers that permit you to configure sure parameters for individuals who ask for an e-mail handle and even providers that may know our location. This shouldn’t be in all gadgets, however it is feasible to discover it.

Old wifi router

Resetting the router earlier than promoting is an efficient answer

To keep away from any form of drawback, a really attention-grabbing possibility is to reset the router utterly earlier than promoting it. This will take away any settings, any knowledge or info that we’ve modified. Basically the brand new proprietor will obtain it as it left the manufacturing unit. This generally even improves the connection.

Each router has a button to reset it. For this we can have to use a small object and press it for a couple of seconds till the method begins. This will permit all that info to be eliminated. For instance, the title of the community will return to the unique, the password the default, the password to entry the configuration, and so forth.

Once that is accomplished we will verify if it has actually been accomplished appropriately or not. To do that we are going to solely have to enter the router by way of the configuration, which is normally by way of the default gateway 192.168.1.1, and see if the title of the Wi-Fi community, the password and any kind of setting.